This has been bugging me recently for some reason, so I put it to you good people. Am I the only one who’s bothered by the use of “I feel like” to mean “I think”? Why are we working so hard to avoid using the word “think”? Why is think a bad word all of a sudden? I mean, sure, it’s something no one ever wants to do – just look at the internet and you’ll see tons of examples of that these days. (That’s sarcasm, folks. Mostly.)

Maybe I’m just an unfeeling, callous bastard or something. But I think (there, I said it) that there’s a difference between thinking and feeling. And it annoys the hell out of me when they’re treated as synonyms. And honestly, I’m fine with letting language evolve, but this seems more like going in the other direction to me. We have a word for this action, and we don’t need to use a different word with a very different meaning to replace it in conversation.

Okay, rant over. And to add a quick apology, I’m sorry I’m such a terrible blogger. I’ve really got to do better at this. Maybe the occasional rant about something silly will help 🙂

Leave a Reply

