The golden age of RPGs

I got my start in tabletop roleplaying games at the ripe old age of 10. I was in fifth grade and had just started at a new school; we moved a lot when I was a kid. So one of my new pals showed me this interesting red box he’d just gotten as a gift. He said it was a game, so we pulled it out and started reading. I had recently started reading a book that had floated around my house for years – some little thing or other called The Hobbit. And this new game tapped right into that same vibe, which was a vibe that fortuitously I really liked. The game (no surprise here) was called Dungeons & Dragons, and I was instantly hooked.

That wasn’t the end of the story, of course. There were complications, not the least of which was a steadily growing unrest in regard to D&D. There were people who actually thought that pretending to kill monsters and demons required that one worship monsters and demons. And sadly enough, a lot of them were the parents of the kids playing these games. Since I wasn’t a terribly social kid, I managed to fly under the radar to an extent. I didn’t have a regular group, so I didn’t play as much as I would have liked. (And for the record, I didn’t worship demons; I’ve never had much faith in anything, really.)

Long story short (too late, right?), I am completely thrilled at the tabletop roleplaying Renaissance that we’re in right now. There are a ridiculous number of new games on the market right now, with many more to come. And I couldn’t be happier about it. I’m sure I won’t get to play most of them, of course; I wish I had the time to play them all, but it just ain’t happening. And with the hiccups that D&D has had in recent years, several of those wonderful new games are in the fantasy genre and are doing quite well. Not saying D&D is dead, but it certainly has allowed some competition to sneak into the market.

It’s cliché as hell, but it really is a great time to be a gamer.

Leave a Reply

