Four-color Literature

Here’s a thing: I review comics for a website. It’s not one of the big comics websites, but that’s okay. I’m not doing it for recognition, really. I do it because it’s actually pretty fun. I didn’t know it would be fun when I started; I started because at the time I had nothing else to do and my old friend Tom asked me if I’d give it a shot. I hadn’t really read any comics in a few years at that point, so it was like starting over. And I’m really glad I did.

The world of comics is in a really good place right now, from the perspective of the reader. I mean sure, there are some strange things going on too, but I’d rather focus on the positive, which is that there are some phenomenal books being published right now. So as cliché as it may be, here are a few of the books I’m into right now.

Skullkickers (Image Comics)

This is my single, hands-down favorite book out there. That’s probably because it’s got a strong sword-and-sorcery fantasy element, and I’m a sucker for it (fantasy RPG background, but that’s another post). And it’s funny. Holy cow, is it funny. Funny is another big one for me; most of my top list is funny stuff. Jim Zub is easily my favorite writer at the moment.

Atomic Robo (Red 5 Comics)

Another funny one, this time based around a sentient robot. Built by Tesla in the early 20th century, Robo is a wisecracking, monster killing powerhouse who also runs the world’s foremost science lab. Witty craziness abounds from the minds of Brian Clevenger and Scott Wegener.

Saga (Image Comics)

There’s no way to not include Saga in this list. It’s the book that everyone loves, and rightfully so. It’s space opera at its best, fantastically drawn by Fiona Staples and equal parts drama and comedy from the pen of Brian K. Vaughan. This book is pure genius.

Red Team (Dynamite Ent.)

I’m not usually into cop drama, but for some reason this one drew me in. Garth Ennis has somehow given us the cop drama we all want but will never see on TV (not on normal broadcast, anyway). Brilliant writing.

Star Wars (the Brian Wood one) (Dark Horse Comics)

This is the Star Wars book no writer in their right mind would want to touch, the one that could totally destroy a career. And Brian Wood is doing an amazing job on it. The Holy Trinity (Luke, Leia and Han) are presented just as we’d want them to be, which is high praise in my book.

Honorable mentions go to Vampirella, Pathfinder, Mind MGMT and Grimm Fairy Tales, and I reserve the right to mention them (and all of the newer awesome books out there) at a later date.

In the meantime, check out thefellowshipofthegeeks.net for all of your comics news and reviews. Gaming stuff too. We’re versatile like that.

Leave a Reply

